jump to navigation

Luckily Surrounded. July 11, 2012

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags: ,
trackback

An unexpected reminder gently slapped me in the face this past week during the CWD Friends for Life 2012 event. I listened to others, and contemplated. Yeah, diabetes sucks. But you deal; you have to. [Side note: Not as easy as it sounds]. Sometimes on my own or with the DOC, but almost always with contributions from the people with whom I surround myself. I was reminded that I am lucky. Lucky to have a phenomenal support crew, regardless as to if that’s what they meant to be. For example…

  • Type Awesome Friend: Fastest across the street juice retrieval from Soda La Fuente that I have ever seen. Granted, I was low, but I might have seen a streak as he ran out the door.
  • Type Awesome Ex: Conquered the middle of the night, I’m-going-to-test-you-because-Dex-is-beeping-so-stick-your-finger-out-from-under-the-covers action.
  • ER Doctor: After testing for keytones, informed me that, “You have keytones. But not diabetic keytones.” Sweet. And we moved on.
  • Endo: When looking at my Dex graph, points at some ups and downs and says, “These are fine.” No asking what I ate, no asking exactly what I did two weeks ago at 3:02 pm.
  • Eye Doctor: After an appointment says, “Keep up the good work, I know it’s hard.” I left the office in tears.
  • Type Awesome Coworker: Unknowingly got sucked into DOC tweets, saw this:
    tweet
    and tweeted back, “m&ms and jolly ranchers in my desk if you need.”
  • Type Awesome Sister: As a youngster, knew to get orange juice for a low. In a foreign country. After I’d passed out. She laughed.
  • Type Awesome Camping Friend: Noticed I was high for the whole camping trip, and asked the dreaded ‘Should you really be eating that?’ when I reached for another chocolate piece. Well, no. I shouldn’t. In that case, I needed someone to call me out.
  • Type Awesome Relative: Came to me holding his arms straight out, huge hands cupped. Holding Dex like a baby bird. “It was beeping, I don’t know what it wants.”

None of these people get it like the DOC might; but they come damn close. Do you find that your in-person support crew changes how often you look to, or how much you rely on the DOC or other online communities?

Comments»

1. Best of the Best of the 'Betes Blogs - Moments of Wonderful | Moments of Wonderful - December 31, 2012

[...] Diabetically Yours May – Abby at Six Until Me June – Sweetly Voiced July – La Osita Blog August – Typical Type 1 September – Typical Type 1 (THE BABY!) and Blah Blah Bklyn [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 519 other followers

