jump to navigation

Cure and Hope Are Four-Letter Words March 7, 2013

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

This week has been one of posts about cures, hope, disappointment and encouragement because of an announcement made pertaining to a ‘cure’. The posts have been superb, and I’m so proud to be in this community right now. Check out links in this post, or my blogroll, for some phenomenal DOC reads and thoughts.

Hope. Cure. Technically, these are four-letter words. I use the less appropriate four-letter words more often. In the almost 25 years I’ve lived with diabetes, not once did I think I would be cured and never will I believe a cure is in my future.

While I don’t remember anyone telling me specifically ‘They’re working on a cure, hang tight 5 to 10 years’, I do recall countless reports of ‘cures’ in the next 5 to 10 years. As so many DOC members have shared, they would be cured twice or three times if that were true.

I do not believe in a cure in my lifetime. And I do not hope for it. Say a cure is discovered tomorrow. Great. That does not mean shit for me. Not every diabetic will be cured the day after FDA approval. FDA approved does not equate to accessibility. My control, as compared to ADA guidelines, is solid. Therefore insurance might tell me I don’t ‘need’ the cure. People with ‘out of range’ A1Cs or high risk of complications would top this cure list.

No eligibility restrictions? Cool. My health insurance rocks, so I might be in. But a cure comes with its own set of restrictions. A whole new way to care of my body, to care for whatever extra precautions I might need to take. Transplants come with a slew of issues the patient must be aware of and manage. I am not sure I would be willing to change my day-to-day responsibilities – that I’ve managed for two decades – for something brand new.

And what about folks without awesome health insurance? What percentage of PWDs would love a CGM or a pump, and CANNOT GET ONE because of cost or insurance issues? Kiddos in poorer nations cannot get daily insulin injections. In those countries, diabetes is still a death sentence. That.Is.Bullshit. The people who need a cure the most won’t be the ones to get it.

Hope for a cure is too uncomfortable, too foolish, too selfish for me*.

However. Hope for technology advancements, for improved education and for prevention – I am onboard with that. That is why I participate in the community. That is why I support JDRF, ADA, the DOC, mentors, educators, endos, scientists and studies.  And to me, that is as important as the cure is for a parent with a newly diagnosed kid.

But a cure is not something to count on. It is not something to teach your kid or your peers to count on. The goal of any diabetic is to survive and to live life. That is anybody’s goal. Yeah, your pancreas screwed you over. Use that to make you a better person. Is it easy? Never. Fun? There are upsides, but no not really. But You Can Do This. Having diabetes makes you smarter about your choices. Makes you responsible. Makes you grateful. Would I ever wish diabetes on anyone? Hell No. But for those of us with whacked-out pancreases, don’t let hope for a cure distract you from your achievements. We have enough distractions.

*Note: I respect those of you hopeful for a cure. It’s just not me. Truly, you make a difference. Truly, you contribute to a worthy and admirable cause.

Comments»

1. Scott K. Johnson - March 7, 2013

I think you have a great point about accessibility. That would be the sickest thing ever, wouldn’t it? Knowing a cure is there, but not being able to afford it.

2. Annie - March 17, 2013

After reading this I spent my time missing you and thinking of how awesome and articulate you are. Then I spent a little while thanking my pancreas for behaving. See you soon amiga!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers

