jump to navigation

Book Review: Your Diabetes Science Experiment March 6, 2014

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags: ,
trackback

A book title with ‘Science Experiment’ made me worried, as no science class in the past went superbly. But, experiment indicates I’ll be trying out things. Science indicates logic and reason behind these things I could try. Any area of diabetes that even has a chance of logic and reason is something I’ll spend time on.

Seemingly illogical stuff, like going high after intense exercise, has actual explanations. But those explanations often become so complicated, that the explanation only adds to the confusion.

That’s where Ginger comes in (oh, she’s the author). Ginger’s book is solid and full of information. And, refreshingly, I feel like this book focused on ME. A long time Type I diabetic who exercises frequently and with variety, and am struggling to best manage my diabetes but also the benefit from exercise itself. That is not to say that if you were diagnosed yesterday, you would not find this book helpful. You would. Or, if you exercise once a week. Or if you have Type 2 diabetes. That’s the beauty of this book – Ginger writes in a way that respectfully reaches all different groups. Ginger presented examples applicable to me (I’m also vegetarian). A LADA meat lover could say the same thing.

This book discussed topics such as insulin sensitivity, carbs, protein and hydration all related to exercise and diabetes. Plus, exercise itself related to diabetes. Many chapters include real-life examples that Ginger had the guts to put out there. The book includes worksheets and steps to help navigate your own solutions and to help make diabetes work into the life you currently live. Ginger also realizes that these steps are tough, and offers encouragement throughout the book. However, I think the book could have better addressed some of the mental challenges that are likely to come up when you begin to take a hard look at diabetes in your life – burnout, overwhelmingness and intimidation.

Overall this book is real, it is helpful, and will be helpful each time your life pattern takes a shift. My favorite quote from this book sums up the idea that diabetes requires huge amounts of effort. But, it is something you can always work on. It is something you might not get right at the first try, and that is alright:
“You are a work a progress.”

Title: Your Diabetes Science Experiment
Author: Ginger Vieira
Ideal Audience: Insulin dependent or insulin-using diabetics partaking in any kind of regular exercise. Curious folks interested in how exercise, insulin and timing can all work together.
Read when: You have a couple days to think about you and your exercising. Be able to keep your own exercise routine in the back of your head while reading. If the book topic sounds overwhelming, read it right away. That feeling fades by the third page.

Disclaimer: I met Ginger at a conference, and a long story short (plus sweet potato fries), I left with a copy of her book at no cost to me.  As with all entries here, my comments and opinions are my own unless otherwise stated. I am not a medical professional. Contact your medical team regarding any health-related concerns, questions or changes.

Comments»

1. Jillian - March 6, 2014

I literally checked your blog two minutes ago and then got the email saying you had a new post! I need to read this book. Perhaps I could borrow it next time I see you?

laosita - March 10, 2014

Ha, good timing. Thanks for checking it out! For sure you can borrow it – I think you’ll find it interesting at the very least.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 562 other followers

