jump to navigation

What Brings Me Down: #Dblog Week, Day 3 May 14, 2014

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags: ,
trackback

Dblog Prompt: What things can make dealing with diabetes an emotional issue for you and / or your loved one, and how do you cope?

The diabetes online community (DOC).

The DOC is tremendous. The reach we have is huge. I think of changes and differences we have made and, for the most part, feel proud. But my diabetes didn’t really have an affective emotional side before I encountered the DOC. That strategy was working pretty well for me.

Sure, LOW lows, weird highs, carrying glucose every damn place frustrated me every now and then. But that was just part of life. I treated a low, treated a high and didn’t think twice about carrying glucose. I recognized that some of those lows were the cause of something I did previously, and the highs the cause of something I did not do. I didn’t think twice about it, learned from what happened and moved on.

But the DOC. As a whole, we can be pretty big on shit not being our fault (treading on thin ice here, I know). I can’t argue with that concept. Diabetes was not my fault. (And it is not your fault.) Many of my LOW lows and HIGH highs might not be my fault. However, introducing the idea that some of what goes on every day might be excusable, might not be my fault and might even be okay also introduced diabetes behavior that I am not proud of. For me, something not being my fault correlates to an excuse. And how I deal with diabetes goes better when I’ve got no excuses. Nothing to fall back on. Nothing to blame but what I did that day. I think that is the mindset that I need. That’s not the way everyone rolls. I’m not giving up the DOC – it’s too awesome. Instead I need to try being more mental prepared when I engage. Take the helpful pieces, offer my thoughts, suggestions and support, and leave everything else.

Comments»

1. Jillian - May 15, 2014

This is a very interesting, honest, and truthful post. I can very much see where you are coming from and how it makes sense. I’ve never thought about it that way but and now it has me thinking. What are you doing, making me think thoughts! Ahhh! But in all seriousness, thanks for posting this Sarah! (I just reread what I write and it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense but it does to me so yeah… I may still be low)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 562 other followers

