jump to navigation

Diabetes Life Hacks: #Dblog Week, Day 5 May 16, 2014

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Dblog Prompt: Share the (non-medical) tips and tricks that help you in the day-to-day management of diabetes. Tell us everything from clothing modifications, serving size/carb counting tricks to the tried and true Dexcom-in-a-glass trick or the “secret” to turning on a Medtronic pump’s backlight when not on the home-screen (scroll to the bottom of this post). Please remember to give non-medical advice only!

My current favorite diabetes life hack pertains to a beeping, high alarming CGM. Recently, I’d been over treating highs because I would dose correctly yet my DexCom continued to beep or go straight up arrow or double straight up arrows. This scenario leaves me more irate than what is rational, leading to the overtreatment of highs just because my calculated treatment was not working fast enough. So, I move Dex to a separate room with a closed door where it stays by itself for an hour to two (enough time for my insulin dose to do its thing). If possible, I go for a short walk or do some stretching to try and calm down. After the hour or two I go get Dex and reassess the blood sugar situation.

A few considerations if you give this a try:

  • Put your CGM in a logical place; i.e., don’t lose it. That undoes the whole not frustrated thing.
  • Not a good hack for down arrows or low alarms. In fact, don’t do this.
  • Don’t abandon your CGM for too long. Leaving an unresponsive high unattended isn’t super.
  • I’m not a doctor. Use your CGM as directed by your doctor.

Comments»

1. Karen - May 16, 2014

I think so many of us complain about the constant blaring of the CGM alarm, and I know it really irks me a lot when waiting for insulin to have enough time to bring down a high. So this is a great tip. I use the Minimed Enlite so while i can’t leave my pump in another room I can adjust your hack by simply silencing my high alarm for a couple of hours.

2. Sara - May 17, 2014

That’s awesome! My related hack is on the frequency of the high alarm. I have my high threshold set relatively low, but I have the “snooze” set for 90 minutes. Basically, I want to know when my BG is going up but I don’t want to hear anything else about it for a while!

laosita - June 8, 2014

That’s probably the more responsible way to handle the whole thing :) . An educator suggested changing my snooze because I kept overtreating out of annoyance…I hadn’t thought about setting it for a bit longer. Thanks Sara!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers

