jump to navigation

Saturday Snapshots: #Dblog Week, Day 6 May 17, 2014

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Dblog Prompt: Back for another year, let’s show everyone what life with diabetes looks like! With a nod to the Diabetes 365 project, let’s grab our cameras again and share some more d-related pictures. Post as many or as few as you’d like. Feel free to blog your thoughts on or explanations of your pictures, or leave out the written words and let the pictures speak for themselves.

The below snapshot is one of my favorites. You can see why. But the other part I love about this image is knowing how hard I worked to make that happen. 72 g of carbs means I brought at least that much. A pump setting means I somehow wrangled my insulin pump into a safe position on that trip. It means I also brought a backup pen. Four hour mountain bike ride…that’s a lot of tough riding. I went solo on this trip, but any riding partner would have brought their bike gear, snacks, hydration and that’s it. When they hit a technical spot they think only about the obstacle. I’m thinking about the obstacle, which way to land if I crash so I don’t rip out my infusion set, what by BG is, and what this obstacle is doing do my BG. As diabetics, we are pretty much ALWAYS thinking more than our pancreas-functioning counterparts. And that sucks. But it makes you feel pretty sweet when you can manage an outcome like this:

72g carbs + 4 hour -70% basal + 3 water bottles + 4 hour mountain bike ride =

This only takes 4 hours of mountain biking!

Comments»

1. Kelley - May 18, 2014

Nice graph!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 562 other followers

