jump to navigation

Day 21: The Best Doctor’s Appointment November 21, 2012

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags:
trackback

Today’s Topic: The best doctor’s appointment.

A doctor’s appointment isn’t good or bad – it just is. I might walk out feeling encouraged, or thinking ‘well that sucked’, but I’ve never thought ‘that was a good (or bad) appointment.’

My eye doctor is in the office next to my endocrinologist, within the same system, so all endo records are easy accessible by the eye doctor. This doctor is particularly good-looking, patient and good at what he does. However, eye appointments scare the hell out of me, no matter how nice the doctor. We made it through the eye drops (where I was called the worst patient ever), basic exam, weird lights and mirrors, gross pictures and labs from my last visit.

‘Everything looks great,’ said Mr. Eye Doctor. ‘Keep up the good work. I know it’s hard.

Huh? Doctors don’t say that, let alone with sincerity. And thus became my best appointment ever.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

