jump to navigation

Day 25: But I Know… November 26, 2012

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags: ,
trackback

Today’s Topic: How have your goals as a patient/advocate/person evolved?

I drifted away from the health focus the last two #NHBPM entries, so to refocus, I’m choosing the patient view for today. My goals as a patient are evolving to be truly mine. My endocrinologist might support or help direct those goals, but they are not his. He’s happy so long as my out-of-range bumps are few and far between, and not too extreme.

But I know that HIGH peak was because I ate Ben & Jerry’s before going to bed. No part of me needed that.

I know that LOW dip was because I waited to long to treat. I knew better.

I know that ridiculous N shape was caused by eating something yummy (but fatty) to treat, followed by a rage bolus, all while not drinking enough water.

What diabetes does is out of my control some days. But there are so many things that I do have control over, and that I could have done correctly. My goals as a patient go beyond hitting certain numerical values. My goal as a patient is to live correctly. To give myself health that I deserve and work my ass off for. While to err is human, that is not an excuse for nonexistent or easy goals.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

