jump to navigation

I’d Prefer a Post-it Note March 24, 2013

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags:
trackback

My internal organs sent a message the other night, I’m pretty sure. It’s not that my numbers were outrageous. It’s not that I didn’t try to cover my carbs. It’s not that I was eating a brand new food. But it was a combination of all those preceded by a week of long days, short nights and goofy food combos.

I wasn’t feeling super to begin with, but proceeded to have some (ie, almost all) of my favorite trail mix with dried cranberries, nuts, chocolate chips, butterscotch chips. I know this particular mix takes a couple hours to kick in. That was going to be all, but I got sucked into the Costa Rica vs. United States World Cup qualifier game.

Costa Rica and I go back, plus game-night weather made for an interesting game. So I grabbed some sweet potato chips, an Easy Street beer, an increased basal rate with a bolus and settled in. Dex and I were taking a break (more on that later), so I wasn’t entirely sure which way my numbers were trending, but I tested and treated throughout the game. That trail mix is high-cal, so I rode my roller bike for the last half of the game (not entirely logical, but stick with me). Which, as expected, made me drop, so I fiddled with basals again.

To recap – it is way past my bedtime, I added trail mix, beer and sweet potato chips to an already not great feeling stomach, had changed basal rates twice, with a few boluses scattered throughout all that.

I went to bed at 11 pm, blood glucose, oddly enough, at 104. By 12:30 I was nauseous and 424. A 300 point rise in an hour and a half. Uhh….not good.

Sweet potato chips taste like plain corn tortilla chips on the way back up. By 1:30 am the point was made and I curled up, cold, in fetal position with a cat on my head (as cats do). Three and a half hours later, I woke up at 142.

Thanks for the uh-hey-you’re-diabetic-don’t-be-dumb-just-be-careful reminder. A post-it note would have been preferred.

Comments»

1. monopinador - March 24, 2013

So, I am not the only dumb doing that. Thank you for sharing your experience. I went troughout similar days and nights, time to time.

2. Scott K. Johnson - March 25, 2013

Holy crap! What a ride! And I’m not talking about your roller bike.

Sorry you had to go through that. Don’t beat yourself up. Your pancreas is broken. 🙂

Glad you’re feeling better.

laosita - March 25, 2013

Thanks Scott. I like the simple statement ‘Your pancreas is broken.’ I don’t ever just think of that when things are going crazy- it really takes the pressure off.


Leave a Reply

