jump to navigation

Accomplishments Big And Small: #DBlog Week, Day 4 May 16, 2013

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags: ,
trackback

Dblog Prompt: We don’t always realize it, but each one of us had come a long way since diabetes first came into our life. It doesn’t matter if it’s been 5 weeks, 5 years or 50 years, you’ve done something outstanding diabetes-wise. So today let’s share the greatest accomplishment you’ve made in terms of dealing with your (or your loved one’s) diabetes. No accomplishment is too big or too small – think about self-acceptance, something you’ve mastered (pump / exercise / diet / etc.), making a tough care decision (finding a new endo or support group / choosing to use or not use a technology / etc.).

Thinking about this prompt, the first thing that came to mind is this blog. This blog is the biggest thing I have done BECAUSE I am diabetic. But, let me backtrack. I don’t think about my accomplishments with or because of diabetes. I don’t remember not having diabetes, so any accomplishment in my life celebrated the actual goal at hand. When I graduated college or bought a house, those accomplishments were not made any less important or more important because I’m diabetic. Riding my bike to work was huge for me – I wore my YouCanDoThis bracelet, but that is as close as diabetes got to that accomplishment. Losing weight, staying fit, eating healthy, are accomplishments because I feel better about myself. Those accomplishments make diabetes easier to manage (note – never easy), but I do not attempt those things just because I am diabetic.

It’s just part of who I am. Infusion sites, new technologies, crunching numbers are my every day life. I have always had to manage this whole extra set of stuff. The accomplishments I might have within that extra set of stuff are no different than someone meeting their goal to eat more vegetables, drink less, a weightlifter getting a max rep, or a body builder acing his pose.

Perhaps my biggest accomplishment is that diabetes has never been my biggest accomplishment.

Comments»

1. xxlovelylizxx - May 17, 2013

I liked your spin on the topic. 🙂

2. Scott K. Johnson - June 13, 2013

Yep, I like it too. And I’m glad you started this blog – I appreciate having your voice in the community.

laosita - June 20, 2013

Thanks Scott – especially coming from a community leader such as yourself.


Leave a Reply

