jump to navigation

Memories: #DBlog Week, Day 3 May 16, 2013

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Dblog Prompt: Today we’re going to share our most memorable diabetes day. You can take this anywhere…. your or your loved one’s diagnosis, a bad low, a bad high, a big success, any day that you’d like to share. 

I can’t say I have a most memorable diabetes day. Or at least, didn’t want to think that hard about it. So I thought instead about one of my funny lows (or at least now-funny lows). A someone of mine and I had a friend who was excellent at math, I think he was an accountant or had some mathy career. One night the someone woke me up to test because Dex was beeping low and I was blowing it off, you know, because Dex was wrong.

I was absolutely convinced that Dex was wrong and I remember making a pretty big deal about Dex being wrong. How this someone had the patience for me, I have no idea. Then I tested. I can’t remember the number, but it was a definite confirmed low. At which point, I went into a whole long schpeel about how we needed to call our math friend (it was 1 am or something ridiculous). I refused to drink juice or eat a snack because I did not want to treat a ‘not low’ number. I then apparently delivered a significantly long explanation about how the calibration between Dex and my meter was incorrect, with attempts at actual science and math talk. I then tried to explain that if we called our math friend to run the numbers, he would help me prove that I was not really low.

And this conversation went round and round in circles for who knows how long…dude, just drink the damn juice and go back to bed…

For more information about Diabetes Blog Week – check out Karen at Bitter~Sweet! And really, you should check her out anyway, she just plain rocks.

Comments»

1. Scott K. Johnson - June 13, 2013

Ok, I have to admit, picturing this cracks me up! 🙂 Like you were going to logic your way out of treating a low! Haha!


Leave a Reply

