jump to navigation

Freaky Friday: #DBlog Week, Day 5 May 17, 2013

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags:
trackback

Dblog Prompt: Just like in the movie, today we’re doing a swap. If you could switch chronic diseases, which one would you choose to deal with instead of diabetes? And while we’re considering other chronic conditions, do you think your participation in the DOC has affected how you treat friends and acquaintances with other medical conditions?

If I could switch with somebody my diabetes for a different chronic disease, I guess I would switch for something that is truly treated with one pill a day. Except…oh yeah, I have one of those too (hypothyroid)! I am no expert on chronic diseases, but I am pretty sure I would rather have Type 1 diabetes than cancer, Celiac, HIV/AIDS or Type 2 diabetes. A drastic comparison perhaps, but those are some of the big chronic diseases this world encounters.

Reading other people’s blogs, meeting other people at diabetes meet ups has helped me open my mind a bit. Having diabetes already sets me up with an open mind as to what other people might be dealing with. And that sometimes your body screws you over big time and the only thing you can do is make the best of it with a good attitude, medications and new technologies. A good friend of mine has Celiac, and just as she learned how to deal with my diabetes, I learned how to eat, cook, clean and travel gluten-free. Those kinds of things are just part of who that person is; if you’re my friend, you are accepted regardless as to what you’ve got going on.

But, if you are a stranger and one of the first things I know about you is that you have Type 2 diabetes, MS or whatever else, the diabetes online community (DOC) helps me remember that that information is NOT the most important thing about you.

You have so many other things to offer. It does not matter how or why you got stuck with a chronic disease. What matters most is who you are as a person, which might include how you’re living with a chronic disease, but the regular good-people traits like honesty and respect always trump any chronic disease characteristic.

Comments»

1. Julie McCalpin - May 17, 2013

Lovely sentiment and well put. My daughter was only diagnosed 2 months ago, and I’m fighting my tendency to focus so much every minute on the diabetes. It’s like, right now the diabetes is all I can see. My husband has had diabetes for 14 years. My middle child, a son, has had life threatening food allergies for 7 years. I hardly think about those things anymore. But, right now, with her, the diabetes is all I can think about. I tend to immerse myself in any new learning experience, and that’s probably what I’m doing right now. But I do let some things define me more than they should. Sometimes I almost want to say, “Hi, I’m Julie and my Mom has been dead for 10 years.” Because it feels like such an incredibly important point to understanding me.

But I don’t want to force that upon my daughter. I don’t want my worry to become a defining characteristic of hers. Something I need to work at. Something to make a goal.


Leave a Reply

