jump to navigation

MDI and I Don’t Hustle and Bustle July 11, 2014

Posted by laosita in diabetes.
Tags: , ,
trackback

City folk and country folk are two totally different characters. The love of noises (or lack thereof), daily expectations and even waking hours seem often to trend in opposite ways. While visiting Chicago awhile back, I wondered if diabetes management choices differ as well. More specifically – insulin pump use.

I used a pump for a couple years before deciding that multiple daily injections (MDI) is currently the better fit for me. Except while traveling. For airplane and flexibility-required journeys, I often switch to the pump. Except I forgot that. (How do I forget to switch insulin delivery systems? I don’t know. It’s kind of a big thing). But man did I miss the pump in the hustle and bustle of a big city.

I missed the option to change a basal rate when a walk through the city, a bus wait or a restaurant wait was longer than expected. Or shorter. Or more strenuous. Or completely changed because an alternate public transportation option became available or the original choice restaurant was more crowded than the one twenty minutes away. Or group plans change because somebody else was dealing with city stuff (aka, the above stuff).

I feel like country (or even suburban) dwellers do not face these diabetes speed bumps on a frequent or as extreme basis. Restaurants do not seem as crowded so I can usually more safely do insulin before I eat. Public transportation? Uh… we’re working on that. The day is just a bit more predictable, and if plans do change last minute it is probably to something I’ve dealt with before (first choice restaurant is full…no problem, I probably have eaten at one of the other 10 options).

City life for me was just a bit more unpredictable in ways that were difficult for me to handle with MDI. Even removing variables like being on vacation and never having been to Chicago before, I think a pump still would have been easier to work with. City dwellers – are you on a pump or is MDI working for you?

Comments»

1. Kerri. - July 22, 2014

I’m not a city dweller (I’m a country mouse) but the pump does afford the kind of flexibility I need for the place I’m at in life right now. (Doesn’t make my purse any lighter – so many supplies! – but it is better for my erratic schedule.) 🙂

laosita - July 22, 2014

Yeah maybe it goes back to schedules – more structure might make MDI ‘easier’. Pumps do great with structure though also! Thanks for reading.

2. Briley - July 22, 2014

I have never thought about it like this, but I love the comparison! I’m definitely a pump person, but am amazed at people who make MDI work for them (temp basals are my favorite).

3. Trip Stoner - July 22, 2014

After 21 years of MDI I finally bit down and I am now pumping. I love it! But if I had to do again, I probably wouldn’t of switch to pumping earlier. Though I do wonder if I would of exercise more.

Check!

4. Kelley - July 22, 2014

That’s a great observation! I never thought about the flexibility that the pump offers when traveling (because I always wear mine) but it is interesting to compare the two with your environment!

5. lesleykimball - July 22, 2014

I love the pump (home or traveling) so much precisely because of the basal options.

6. Dolores - July 22, 2014

Country mouse … For sure … Even though we are still pumpers

#dblogcheck

7. kelly2k - July 22, 2014

What a great post!!
I’ve been on a pump since 2002 and in both city & country mouse locations and it worked regardless of the geography.
I love the flexibility of the pump – especially re: the basal rates – it makes my life so much easier. 🙂

8. Wendy - July 22, 2014

Suburbia…I guess…

My daughter needs the prescision micro-doses a pump offers. Sometimes I feel like she could use a boost of long-acting insulin in the background, but those itsy bitsy doses have been a lifesaver for us!

9. pavedsilverroads - July 22, 2014

MDI never worked for me, not because of flexibility but because I have vastly different basal needs throughout the day. The pump allows me to fine-tune everything, and that’s what I like about it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

